Townlands in Ireland

Ireland has 32 County divisions. These are further sub-divided and a Barony is the largest sub-division which itself has a number of sub-divisions called Civil Parish (Parish) units. The Poor Law Union (PLU or Union) is another division of the Country into about 160 units which does cross County boundary lines at times. The District Electoral Division (DED) is a sub-division of the PLU. Finally the Townland is the smallest unit or parcel of land in Ireland. There are over 65,000 Townlands with names often being repeated, even within a County, but not in the same DED of course.

Frequently there is a difference in spelling of District Electoral Division (DED) names between the 1901 and 1911 Census data in Ireland. Also there are variations in the spelling of Townland names between the 1901 and 1911 Census data.

This section of our website facilitates comparing DED names between 1901 and 1911 for each County and then viewing the Townland names for that selected DED. This we hope will facilitate searches and in particular those doing family history / ancestry / genealogy research.

Alternatively you may select a County and then click to view all the Townlands in that County, DED names are also displayed and Barony, Civil Parish and Union names are being added. Any of these columns can be sorted alphabetically by clicking on the column heading.

County View DED View All Townlands
Antrim View View
Armagh View View
Carlow View View
Cavan View View
Clare View View
Cork View View
Donegal View View
Down View View
Dublin View View
Fermanagh View View
Galway View View
Kerry View View
Kildare View View
Kilkenny View View
Laois View View
Leitrim View View
Limerick View View
Londonderry View View
Longford View View
Louth View View
Mayo View View
Meath View View
Monaghan View View
Offaly View View
Roscommon View View
Sligo View View
Tipperary View View
Tyrone View View
Waterford View View
Westmeath View View
Wexford View View
Wicklow View View